Facebook fraud

If you are thinking about advertising on Facebook then have a look at this first.

Evidence Facebook’s revenue is based on fake likes.

Is Facebook worried that there seem to be a number of fake profiles in certain countries generating fake “likes” and so devaluing the worth of its advertising system?

Is the network being as active as it should be in addressing a problem which is generating lots of revenue for its bottom line?

I know first-hand that Facebook’s advertising model is deeply flawed. When I paid to promote my page I gained 80,000 followers in developing countries who didn’t care about Veritasium (but I wasn’t aware of this at the time). They drove my reach and engagement numbers down, basically rendering the page useless. I am not the only one who has experienced this.

Rory Cellan-Jones had the same luck with Virtual Bagel.  See the original BBC post by Rory Cellan-Jones

MD of Plan A Marketing Limited

Posted in Effective marketing, google, PPC
Follow me on Twitter
